Sefako Makgatho Health Sciences SMU School of Pharmacy

By | April 15, 2022

Sefako Makgatho Health Sciences University SMU School of Pharmacy

Sefako Makgatho Health Sciences SMU School of Pharmacy – See Details Below:

About School of Pharmacy

The School of Pharmacy is one of the five Schools of Sefako Makgatho Health Sciences University (SMU). However, although it is newest at SMU as of 2017, it has a proud history of offering pharmacy education dating back to 1983 when it was established as a School within the Faculty of Medicine in what was then MEDUNSA. Due to the political climate at the time and the subsequent rationalization of the schools of pharmacy nationally, the undergraduate Bachelor of Pharmacy (BPharm) degree was not implemented. Emphasis was thus placed on postgraduate education in the form of the MSc (Med) and PhD. degrees.

The BPharm degree education was then offered in 1998 in partnership with Tshwane University of Technology. In 2005, the University of Limpopo (UL) was established as a merger of MEDUNSA and University of the North. The new academic structure of UL came into effect in 2006, and as result, the School of Pharmacy became the Department of Pharmacy within the School of Health Care Sciences under the Faculty of Health Sciences.

The School of Pharmacy has developed four departments which are Clinical Pharmacy, Pharmaceutical Sciences, Pharmacy Practice, and Public Health Pharmacy and Management. The School offers BPharm degree and other undergraduate programs for basic and post-basic pharmacist assistants. It also offers a dispensing course and several continuing professional development courses. Postgraduate programs are also offered and these include Master of Pharmacy in the disciplines of clinical pharmacy, pharmaceutical sciences encompassing also radiopharmacy, public health pharmacy and management. The Photobiology Laboratory is also housed in the School and attracts several national and international studies from the pharmaceutical/cosmetic industry.

The future of pharmacy lies in the hands of our students, and the impact that they will have on the patients and the public. Therefore, through our excellent academic programs both at undergraduate and postgraduate levels, the training that the students get equip them with necessary knowledge, skills and attitudes to serve the healthcare needs of our society.

Sefako Makgatho Health Sciences University SMU School of Pharmacy Courses Offered

Sefako Makgatho Health Sciences SMU School of Pharmacy Contact Address

SMU School of Pharmacy Contact Address – See Details Below:

Contact Us

School of Pharmacy  012 521 4312

Dean of School: Prof Patrick Demana

Prof Brian Godman – Honorary Professor

Support Staff


Ms S Masango 0125213976

Student Support

Ms L Mabope Senior Lecturer

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.