University of the Witwatersrand Social Sciences Department

By | April 13, 2022

University of the Witwatersrand Social Sciences Department

University of the Witwatersrand Social Sciences Department – See Details Below:

History

“A people not prepared to face its own history cannot manage to face its own future” – Karl Heinz Hansen, German politician

Founded in 1917, the Department attracts top-class academics. It has been led by several eminent intellectuals and seminal thinkers on South African society. These include  W M Macmillan and J S Marais.  

Over the past few decades, the  Department has developed a focus on the social history of Africa Simultaneously it has maintained its traditional expertise in world history. The Department offers a wide variety of units taught by some of the world’s leading Africanists and Europeanists. 

History students at Wits draw upon a vast range of local and international academic expertise, and on NGO, government, and business experiences.  This gives intellectual depth and practical meaning to their work. 

Careers 

The History Department offers training in: 

  • Assessing evidence 
  • Writing accurately and economically 
  • Constructing an argument 

This will give the student an advantage in any profession. The ’information age’ makes the discipline of History more useful, not less. Graduates are working in almost every profession imaginable, including professional research, heritage and museum management, cultural tourism, and curriculum development, and educational policy.

University of the Witwatersrand Social Sciences Department Contact

University of the Witwatersrand Social Sciences Contact – See Details Below:

Contact Information

African Centre for Migration and Society 

teaching@migration.org.za
011 717 4097

Anthropology 

Molefi.Makola@wits.ac.za
011 717 4404

Demography and Population Studies 

Soraya.Patel@wits.ac.za
011 717 4054

Development Studies 

Social.DevStudies@wits.ac.za
011 717 4437

Global Labour University 

Glu.SouthAfrica@wits.ac.za
011 717 4443

History 

social.history@wits.ac.za
011 717 4312

Postgraduate enquiries:
Clive.Glaser@wits.ac.za & social.history@wits.ac.za

History NRF Chair: Local Histories, Present Realities 

Antonette.Gouws@wits.ac.za
011 717 4291

Human Rights 

Students interested in a MA by Dissertation to send an

email of interest to soss@social.wits.ac.za

International Relations 

Social.IR@wits.ac.za
011 717 4382

Philosophy 

Julia.Mamabolo@wits.ac.za
011 717 4345

Political Studies 

Thandeka.Ndebele@wits.ac.za
011 717 4363

Sociology 

Josephine.Mashaba@wits.ac.za  (Undergraduate)
011 717 4447

Sedzani.Malada@wits.ac.za  (Postgraduate)
011 717 4424

Wits Centre for Diversity Studies 

info.wicds@wits.ac.za
011 717 4418

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.